Squad Announced for Germany

Tom Sermanni this week announced the squad for the upcoming World Cup and we were pleased to see that the two girls who are the subject of no apologies have been selected.

The full squad is here:

Teigen Allen (Sydney FC), Laura Alleway (Brisbane Roar), Melissa Barbieri (Melbourne Victory), Tameka Butt (Brisbane), Kim Carroll (Brisbane), Lauren Colthorpe (Brisbane), Lisa De Vanna (Brisbane), Casey Dumont (Brisbane), Caitlin Foord (Sydney), Heather Garriock (Sydney), Elise Kellond-Knight (Brisbane), Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory), Leena Khamis (Sydney), Collette McCallum (Glory), Ellyse Perry (Canberra), Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane), Sally Shipard (Canberra), Kyah Simon (Sydney), Servet Uzunlar (Sydney), Emily van Egmond (Canberra), Lydia Williams (Canberra).

Sermanni has cleverly compensated for the retirement of experienced stalwarts following the team’s quarterfinals appearance four years ago and there is a really strong sense of belief and a lack of fear in this side.

Incredibly players such as Sally Shippard are now classed as elder stateswomen at just 23 but with 48 caps to her name. Mercurial Lisa de Vanna a real veteran at just 26 years of age also is included in the squad.

There are four players in Caitlin Foord (16), Teigen Allen (17), Emily van Egmond (17) and Sam Kerr still in their teens in the squad and Kyah Simon turns 20 during the tournament. These fearless girls have certainly added a new energy and belief to the team and let’s hope they can all produce on the park.

{Picture courtesy of The Womens Game)


Connect with us

Updates in your in-box? Subscribe to our emails or connect with us on social media.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply